One of Those No Good, Very Bad Days

It was a fine day. And even if it wasn’t, it would be, when I would use all the money I made last month, freelancing as much as I could, to buy clothes! And shoes! And stuff. Okay fine, I didn’t have that much but I could very well treat myself to a little shopping. All in all, it was going to be a good day. I wore my cute shorts and paired it with my cute top and even though I needed my bigger back-pack, I still got the cute one that co-ordinated with everything so well. You should always look good when you want to treat yourself, that’s my #3 rule. And I had the cash tucked away safely into the little pockets you have in your wallet for credit cards. I was equipped for my mission!

All was well, and my class ended pretty early. Either that or I didn’t attend the last class, who remembers? I was on my way home to drop a few bulky assignments at my room. Then off to shopping. I got on the auto- rickshaw, and my phone rings. It’s from Flipkart! Yipee! My book order came through! Now I have books to read and new stuff to wear! I swear I don’t need anything else, not even a hunky and adorable guy who just gets me!

But when things seemed to take a turn for the awesome, my spidey sense triggered off. I am missing something, I am sure I am missing something. I ruffle through my bag, and as I would have it, I am missing my wallet – which had my voter ID card, my ATM card and the entire cash I was going to spend. And I don’t even have change to pay off the rickshaw guy. Panic! I get down at the nearest stop and let the guy know – dude, no monies. He looks at me weird, obviously, and drives off while I am sitting on the pavement fervently looking through my bag. Maybe the purse is playing peek-a-boo. Maybe.

Which wasn’t the case. So I pick up my stuff, and walk back to college. As fast as I can. If I lose my ATM card, that’s it. I’m dead. My dad wouldn’t stand for this new bullshit. And what about the Voter ID card? That’s another hassle. Without that no one’s gonna believe I’m 21 next year. Bye bye bar entry. I had noticed it was drizzling, but I was too flustered to stop. Water from Sky, you can’t stop me today!

Guess the Water from Sky took it as a challenge, so even though it was sunny as fuck, it started pouring and I hadn’t even made it halfway. I take shelter at a hospital that comes on the way. I figure this may take a while, and I keep getting more nervous. My common sense kicked in, and I decided to call a friend to look out for my wallet and keep it safely with him till I reach… “You have insufficient balance to make a call. Please recharge your balance to make this call.” FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCK!

This is surreal. This is not happening. I look around, maybe someone will lent their phone. But I couldn’t muster the courage to ask a stranger for their phone and just kept nervously ticking and cursing everyone since the dawn of time.

Twenty minutes or so, the rain slowed down to a drizzle and I walked as fast as I could. After a good ten to fifteen minutes later, my leg smeared in mud and my cute shorts stained, my cute top wet with rain and sweat, I reach my college. I run to my class and heave a sigh of relief when I see my filthy lime green and pink tribal printed wallet lying quietly on the table. I jump around a little.

Run down the stairs and get the next auto-rickshaw. I am happy again! Things will be good again.

Soon enough, I reach my stop. I take my wallet. Open it. Take out the change, hand it to the guy. Stop in my tracks… Reopen my wallet… Check it… Check it once again… Check it thrice… I had the voter ID card, the ATM card, 80 bucks in loose change. But it was missing… Someone stole my freelance money.

P.S. My order got screwed up, so I didn’t have the books either.

2 thoughts on “One of Those No Good, Very Bad Days

Leave a Reply

